merges with…


Felice Varini (born in Locarno, Switzerland) is a Paris based artist. Varini’s canvas “is architectural space and everything that constitutes such space.

Lesson / Koan : One point is more than enough.

Felice Varini was nominated for the 2000/2001 Marcel Duchamp Prize, known for his geometric perspective-localized paintings of rooms and other spaces, using projector-stencil techniques.

According to mathematics professor and art critic Joël Koskas, “A work of Varini is an anti-Mona Lisa.”

BTW,

The appearance of utopia can change in the blink of an eye. ( or one returns to the same POVas an act of deep memory. )

Felice Varini’s works have only one view point from which people can see his ‘paintings’, and from that vantage point, his artwork merges with architecture and the surrounding. “If I establish a particular relation to architectural features“, Felice Varini says “that influence the installation shape, my work still preserves its independence whatever architectural spaces I encounter.

NOTE :

Perspective-localized painter, Felice Varini, interviewed by Gil Dekel.

Did you ever consider to construct or create the space itself?

No, because I am not an architect. I am a painter, and painting is my main concern. The question that I am asking as an artist is, ‘What is the next step in the history of art after Mondrian, Malevich and Pollock? What can we offer today that will take us to the next step in abstract painting?’ My answer is to work on the three-dimensional reality instead of the canvas. I do not intend to create the reality or manipulate it. The reality is complex enough. Every day you can discover something new around you. It is an ongoing surprise; looking at old churches, sub-stations, houses. There are many types of architecture around the world, with new relations and new perspectives created all the time, and once I choose a space I start a new thinking process with it.

